The Complete Asian Cookbook by Charmaine Solomon

Wow, what a month of delicious discoveries and exciting experiments!

Cambodian Caramalised Pepper Pork by JamJnr.com

Cambodian Caramelised Pepper Pork by JamJnr.com

What Did We Create This Month?

Here is a rundown of the amazing food created in our kitchens this month for The Cook Book Guru.

Indonesian Corn Fritters by Almost Italian

Indonesian Corn Fritters by Almost Italian

Wow, what a collection of food!

What was your favourite part of cooking from Charmaine Solomon’s The Complete Asian Cookbook?

I loved learning just how easy it was to create curry pastes and to make curries in general.  I think I’ve finally embraced and understood a little more the beauty that lies in cooking with spices.  It’s a knowledge I’ve been seeking but feeling like its has been eluding me.  I’m sure I still have a way to go in the learning process but I’m feeling a lot more confident about it.

Thai Green Curry Paste by Sharing The Food We Love

Thai Green Curry Paste by Sharing The Food We Love

My favourite part though was once again reading about the delight and joy that everyone took in being a part of this cook book book club.  Wether you were discovering this book for the first time and trying new recipes or cooking old time favourites and reliving treasured memories, it is what brings me joy and has me coming back each month to set The Cook Book Guru in motion.

Oven Roasted Spiced Chicken by Loni

Oven Roasted Spiced Chicken by Lona’s In The Kitchen

Which recipe will you be recreating in your kitchen?

I know that I have some great new favourites in my house including the Egg Curry and the Pea and Potato recipe that Lady Red Specs created.   I’m really keen to try Nancy’s Parsi Eggs and also Lona’s Oven Roasted Spiced Chicken in the coming months.

Pea and Potato Curry by Lady Red Specs

Pea and Potato Curry by Please Pass The Recipe

It’s what The Cook Book Guru is all about….

Thank you for being a part of a wonderful exploration of an old classic that still seems to have as much relevance in the kitchen today as it did 40 years ago when it was published. We may adapt the recipes to our palates and the ingredients available to us, but the basic knowledge and skills included are incredibly valuable to anyone wanting a starting point to learn how to cook curries and explore the culinary landscape.

Meat and Coconut Patties by Passion Fruit Garden

Meat and Coconut Patties by Passion Fruit Garden

Thank you to Nancy, Sandra (aka Lady Red Specs), Lona, Glenda, & Francesca for your wonderful explorations, creations and enthusiasm in diving into this book, I hope you enjoyed your creations as much as I did reading about them.

If you have any suggestion or recommendations of cook books that you would like to see added to the list please don’t hesitate to let me know.

Want to be a part of a more casual conversation and sharing with what you create as part of The Cook Book Guru?  Tag The #CookBookGuru and @sharingthefoodwelove on Instagram and  share your photo’s or have family and friends join in the conversation.

I’m looking forward to seeing what we all come up with for March’s book.

Leah

