Let’s Call it a Fruit Loaf.

Another delicious treat from Elizabeth David’s English Bread and Yeast Cookery for this month’s The Cookbook Guru. Read all about Lona’s experience of this delicious fruit bread and how to plait your dough to create an impressive loaf like hers.
Enjoy,
Leah

Lona's in the kitchen

Image

I’m a sucker for a good fruit bread.

On our recent travels down the south coast of NSW we stopped for a coffee and something to eat at the marvellous Heritage Bakery  in Milton. The array of breads and pastries and cakes was magnificent.

I limited myself to only one loaf of something and that something was a fig and cranberry sour dough bread. What a choice it was. It was one of the nicest fruit breads I’ve had in a very long time. Big juicy pieces of fig and little tart cranberries. It was perfect.

No, I haven’t got a recipe for that dreamy fruit loaf, yet…. but I’ll share when I do…

I found this recipe in Elizabeth David’sEnglish Bread and Yeast Cookery, which is The Cookbook Guru‘s book of the month.

It’s called Northumbrian Harvest Tea Cake, but once you look at the recipe it’s just a…

View original post 287 more words

