Cornish Saffron Cake

I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to make this recipe with its similarities to Swedish Lucia Buns that I love so much. A delicious and buttery treat for something different. Read all about how to make saffron and fruit bread, known as Cornish Saffron Cake, from Elizabeth David’s English Bread and Yeast Cookery.
Enjoy,
Leah

Sharing The Food We Love

1

I’m not ashamed to admit that I have an in depth love affair with saffron.  I love the golden colour that it imparts into the food you add it to, I love the fragrant flavour and smell and I love all the memories, reaching back into my childhood, that are sparked when ever I smell it.   This love started when I was very young when I first started eating Swedish Saffron buns that a dear family friend would bake for us for Lucia.   It was because of the similarities in the recipe that I thought I should give this recipe a try for this month’s The Cookbook Guru.

We are cooking from Elizabeth David’s English Bread and Yeast Cookery Book and it is an incredibly enlightening journey on the history and culture of bread in the English lifestyle.  Perhaps a little dated now as we are finding as we create…

View original post 782 more words

