Rigatoni with Broccoli, Almonds and Currants

Another inspired contribution from Glenda at Passion Fruit Garden. I’d been eyeing off Maggie’s Verjuice cookbook for next year so this is a very welcome idea.

Enjoy, Leah

Passion Fruit Garden

006copy

As I have mentioned previously, the Cookbook Guru has allocated this month for members to pitch for a book or books to be featured.  I have already pitched for The Food of Morocco, by Paula Wolfert, and now a pitch for someone closer to home.

If you were to ask me who my favourite cookbook writer is, I would probably say Maggie Beer.  Maggie Beer has been a significant contributor to the creation of an uniquely Australian style of cuisine.

I can still remember the first time I heard quince paste mentioned.  It was 1999 and I was listening to Radio National.  The presenter reported that the journalist, Richard Carleton, had been sent to East Timor to report on the war and requested he be provided certain foods.  On his list was quince paste.  The presenter had never heard of quince paste and asked his audience to ring in and explain it to him.  Before long, it was established that…

View original post 658 more words

