Once is enough …

An interesting experiment by Glenda in making Muhallabia, and a good example of cookbooks not being perfect in the recipes that they share.
Enjoy the read, Leah

Passion Fruit Garden

013copy

This month, The Cookbook Guru is featuring Saha by Greg and Lucy Malouf.  One great thing about trying out recipes for the Cookbook Guru is you get to do a post even when the recipe is a dud. Normally, if a recipe is a dud, I write next to it, “Once is enough” and move on.  But the Cookbook Guru wants us to critique recipes in the featured cookbook.

As I have mentioned more than once, I am a big fan of Muhallabia.  I have been making a modified version of Claudia Roden’s recipe for about 30 years.  So, when I saw Greg had a version in Saha (Lebanese milk pudding with passionfruit (Passionfruit Muhallabeya)), I thought I would give it a go.  It is always good to compare your version against others.

Greg’s recipe was flavoured with orange blossom water rather than rose water.  Orange blossom water is always an alternative to rose water…

View original post 328 more words

