Chilled Carrot and Hazelnut soup

Another beautiful cold soup contribution to counter the heat wave we’re experiencing here in Brisbane.

Enjoy,

Leah

Sharing The Food We Love

Chilled Carrot and Hazelnut Soup

When I started making the Pea and Mint soup earlier this week I got into the chilled soup groove and decided to give this recipe a go too.  I didn’t find this recipe to be as successful in its execution or flavour balance, although I would definitely use it as a base inspiration for making something along these lines.  First up the ingredients proportion resulted in thick chunky soup, adding a cup of water gave a much more appealing texture.   The flavours were very much dominated by the onion and garlic.  I would lend a page from the pea soup recipe and pre-cook them to soften both the flavour and texture to allow the carrot to shine through.  Finally I think that this recipe would work perfectly adding a touch of orange and I would certainly lean towards that in my next incarnation.

The idea of this soup lent itself…

View original post 315 more words

