A Most Unusual Tagine

My kitchen witch has posted a wonderful piece on tangines and why they may not be what you always assumed. I see some saffron water in my future if nothing else.

Happy reading and happy cooking,

Leah

An Evolving Life

When The Cookbook Guru announced that its March/April book under review was Paula Wofert’s The Food of Morocco, I told myself “no tagines” even though we are fond of a spicy, meaty dish. Well, it seemed too predictable – and too commonly reproduced, often mangled from its original to adapt to the busy modern kitchen. Just throw in a bit of exotic spice with some stewed meat (generally lamb, but beef or chicken as well) and a handful of dried fruit for a bit of sweetness, et voilà tagine. Better yet, make it in one of those cute conical hat tagine pots, serve with a mound of couscous and pass it off as authentic. Très chic.

Yet, after reading Wolfert’s introduction on tagines, I realized how wrong (and terribly cynical) I was. A tagine is the name for that shallow earthenware pot with the conical hat lid that…

View original post 1,069 more words

