Tomato Magic

A new comer to Moroccan cuisine I’ve started off at the beginning with creating some of the foundation condiments that Wolfert suggests are essential in the making of this fabulous food. This time around its in the form of Tomato Magic, which I’m sure has far reaching applications beyond just Moroccan food.

Happy Reading and Happy Cooking,

Leah

Sharing The Food We Love

tomato magic 3

With a title like this how could I not be intrigued by this recipe. As I’ve been exploring Paula Wolfert’s The Food of Morocco for The Cookbook Guru I’ve been very much concentrating on learning the building blocks of what creates the flavours in Moroccan savoury foods. Seeing this recipe gave me a little thrill as I thought of its versatility far beyond the recipes in this book.

This recipe is so easy to make and produces a far superior tomato paste to the commercial kind you would buy in your local supermarket.

Tomato Magic

  • 200g sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil
  • 810g Canned Tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Combine the sun-dried tomatoes, including the oil that they are packed in, with the canned tomatoes, including their juices, with the salt and 2 tbl spoons of water in a food processor or blender and puree until smooth.

Pour…

View original post 100 more words

