Brutti ma Buoni alla Millanese (Hazelnut paste cookies)

Glenda has shared another great Italian biscuit recipe with us from The Italian Baker. Gluten Free and using up those excess egg whites they sound fabulous for anyone that is a hazelnut lover. Make sure you check out the post.

Happy Reading and Happy Baking,

Leah

Passion Fruit Garden

013copy

For July and August, The Cookbook Guru is showcasing the book, The Italian Baker, by Carol Field.  Early in July, I checked out the book and spotted this recipe.  I was attracted because it required 8 (or 9) egg whites.  If there is one ingredient that I covet in a recipe as much as marmalade, it’s egg whites.  I, usually, have 15-20 in the freezer.

Even though I identified this recipe early in July, I got it into my head that Sandra, from Please Pass the Recipe, had already posted it so I put the idea of making them on the back burner. But, last night, I checked Sandra’s blog.  Her post was on Ossi du Mordere so I decided to give Carol Field’s Brutti ma Buoni recipe a bash.

The recipe is deceptively simple.  It consists of hazelnut meringue which is cooked in a saucepan before being baked.  I have never come across this technique before, so I was intrigued.  I must say, the biscuits…

View original post 699 more words

